St. Mary's County, Maryland HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION

Minutes of the meeting held December 17, 2009 at Land Use and Growth Management

Present: Rob Gibbs, Chair Grace Mary Brady, Staff

Susan Erichsen, Member Scott Lawrence, Member Ruth Mitchell, Member Carol Moody, Member

> Victor Govier, Excused Absence Hal Willard, Excused Absence

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m. Mr. Gibbs called roll and confirmed that a quorum was present. Commission requirements were read for the record.

Guests: Mr. Dave Weiskopf, Deputy County Attorney

Approval of Agenda: Motion by Susan Erichsen, second by Scott Lawrence to accept the agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Approval of Minutes: Motion by Carol Moody, seconded by Susan Erichsen to approve the minutes of August 27, 2009. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Susan Erichsen, seconded by Scott Lawrence to approve the minutes of September 24, 2009 as amended. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Susan Erichsen, seconded by Carol Moody to approve the minutes of October 22, 2009. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Susan Erichsen, seconded by Ruth Mitchell to approve the minutes of November 5, 2009. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Susan Erichsen, seconded by Ruth Mitchell to approve the minutes of November 19, 2009. Motion passed unanimously.

Reports: No staff report given.

Old Business: None

New Business:

1) Review of By-Laws by Deputy County Attorney, Dave Weiskopf

Mr. Gibbs spoke about the by-laws that had been approved by the Board of County Commissioners when Julie Randall was President. He spoke with Mr. Weiskopf about some of the duties that he would like to see the members of the HPC able to perform. Mr. Weiskopf suggested that most of what Mr. Gibbs requested could be accomplished through Zoning Ordinance changes.

Staff agreed to make arrangements for Mr. Gibbs to meet with the Zoning Administrator and Mr. Weiskopf to discuss this matter further. No vote was taken.

2) Election of Officers

Motion by Susan Erichsen, seconded by Ruth Mitchell, that Robert Gibbs continues to serve as Chair to the Historic Preservation Commission. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Susan Erichsen, seconded by Scott Lawrence, that Carol Moody serves as Vice-Chair. Motion passed unanimously.

3) Revision of Awards Nomination form.

Suggestions were offered by staff, Ruth Mitchell and Carol Moody. The 2010 Historic Preservation Award Nomination Form was adopted with revisions.

Items from the floor – None		
Announcement	\mathbf{s} – None	
Adjournment adjourned at 5:1	•	ded by Carol Moody to adjourn the meeting. Meeting
Submitted By:	Grace Mary Brady	Signed by: Robert Gibbs, Chair
Date:		